Special Education

Welcome to the San Marino Unified School District's Special Education Department. We exist to serve the needs of students who have disabilities so they may learn the content, concepts, and skills needed to be successful in their lives. We are guided by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) which provides the definition of a "child with a disability", listing 14 different categories under which a child may be found eligible for special education and related services should their disability affect the child's educational performance.

1. Autism
2. Deafness
3. Deaf-Blindness
4. Hard of Hearing
5. Intellectual Disability
6. Multiple Disabilities
7. Orthopedic Impairment
8. Other Health Impairment
9. Emotional Disturbance
10. Specific Learning Disability
11. Speech or Language Impairment
12. Traumatic brain injury
13. Visual Impairment

For more information about Special Education, related services, IDEA, and more, please visit our parent handbook and other pages, or contact your schools Principal or the SMUSD Director of Special Education