English Language Development » English Language Performance Assessments for California (ELPAC)

English Language Performance Assessments for California (ELPAC)

The ELPAC is the mandated state test for determining English language proficiency (ELP). It must be given to students whose primary language is one other than English. California and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten—or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, also referred to as transitional kindergarten—through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments: The Initial ELPAC and the Summative ELPAC.


For frequently asked questions view A Parent Guide to Understanding the ELPAC, (家長指南 加州英語能力評估測驗) or visit ELPAC Parent Resources. Parents and students can review and take ELPAC Practice Tests to become familiar with the types of test questions on the ELPAC. Select “Sign In” as a Guest User and Guest Session to take a practice or training test with your child. ELPAC & CAASPP Practice Tests 測試練習 provides detailed login instructions.

Initial ELPAC—an initial identification of students as English learners (ELs)


Schedule: ongoing, within 30 days of initial enrollment




Summative ELPAC—an annual summative assessment to measure an EL's progress in learning English and to identify the student's English language proficiency level


2023-2024 Schedule:


Dates & Grade Spans 

Carver Elementary

  • March 11th: Grade 5

  • March 12th: Grade 4

  • March 13th: Grade 3

  • March 11th-22nd: Grades TK-2, ongoing

Valentine Elementary

  • March 18th: Grades 4-5

  • March 19th: Grade 3

  • March 18th-22nd: Grades TK-2, ongoing

San Marino High School

  • March 25th: Grades 9 & 11

  • March 26th: Grades 10 & 12

Huntington Middle School

  • April 1st: Grade 6

  • April 2nd: Grade 7

  • April 3rd: Grade 8



Alternate ELPAC—consist of an Initial Alternate ELPAC and a Summative Alternate ELPAC for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities.
Initial Alternate: ongoing, within 30 days of initial enrollment
Summative Alternate: TBD, Spring 2024


Alt Fact Sheet

The Proficiency Level Descriptors (PLDs) provide an overview of the stages of English language development through which English learners (ELs) are expected to progress as they gain increasing proficiency in English as a new language. The PLDs depict student knowledge, skills, and abilities across a continuum, identifying what ELs know and can do at early stages and upon exit from each of three proficiency levels: Emerging, Expanding, and Bridging. This chart shows both Initial and Summative ELPAC scores in correlation to the PLDs continuum.